Register for IELTS

IELTS for migrating abroad

Most people migrate to international countries for different purposes and if you are also considering migrating abroad, you may need to take an English language proficiency test like the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test as it is the most popular, reliable, and valid measure of English proficiency by immigration authorities, employers, and educational institutions around the world. Here is all the information for you when planning to migrate to countries like USA, UK, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.

What is IELTS?

The International English language testing system (IELTS) is the most renowned English language proficiency test accepted by more than 11,000 institutions and organisations worldwide. The test has two modules- IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training.

This test is divided into four sections – Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. While your listening, Reading, and Writing tests are taken on the same day, your Speaking test can be taken before or after the other three.

Why take IELTS for migration?

If you are planning to migrate to an English-speaking country, you may be required to take the IELTS as proof of your English language proficiency. Many immigration authorities use IELTS as a standardised assessment tool to evaluate the language skills of applicants for visa and immigration purposes.

The test provides a comprehensive evaluation of your English language proficiency and gives you an internationally recognised certificate that demonstrates your language skills to potential employers, and immigration authorities. Taking the IELTS test can improve your chances of being accepted for migration purposes. Achieving a high score on the IELTS test can also help you to access more opportunities for work or study.

IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is meant for those who wish to apply for secondary education, and professionals seeking work experience. Also, it is mandatory to migrate to Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the UK.

There are four sections of the IELTS test: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking.

  • Listening, Reading, and Writing tests are taken on the same day, without any breaks in between, one after the other.
  • The Speaking test may either fall on the same day or any day up to a week before or after the test date. For the Speaking test, you can book a speaking slot online on the date and time that fits you best
  • If you fail to choose a slot within the stated time period, a time slot will be automatically allocated to you

IELTS test requirements for different countries

Many countries require English language proficiency tests for the purpose of permanent residency, work permits, or study visas. The required IELTS score may vary depending on the country, program, or occupation you are applying for. For example, Canada requires a minimum IELTS score of 6.0 for migration and a score of 7.0 for some professional programs. Here are the IELTS requirements for different countries:

IELTS for Australia

In Australia, IELTS is accepted by the Department of Home Affairs for many visa categories, and permanent residency. It is also required for some Australian official organisations and accrediting bodies.

For Australian immigration, the minimum IELTS score requirement is 6.

IELTS for New Zealand

New Zealand asks for IELTS as proof of English language proficiency for Immigration purposes and visas. This includes those within the investor, skilled migrant, entrepreneur, parent categories, and the residence from work.

For New Zealand, the IELTS score requirement for immigration is 6.5.

IELTS for Canada

If you are planning to apply for a professional recognition, work visa, or permanent residency in Canada, it might be important that you will be asked to submit proof of an English language proficiency test. For Canadian immigration, you can also check with Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for the minimum score requirement as it can be different for different circumstances.

IELTS for the UK 

In the UK proof of English language proficiency test is a requirement for those who wish to apply for permanent residency in the UK.

For migration to the UK, IELTS score requirements vary from 4 to 7.

Hope, this blog will help you understand everything about taking the IELTS General Training test for migration purposes so that you can make your procedure smooth and easy.

To know more about IELTS and to book your test date, you can get in touch with our international education experts at IDP or your nearest IELTS centre.